Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomePoliticsHow PDP Govs Beat Atiku, Saraki, Lamido Candidate At Convention

How PDP Govs Beat Atiku, Saraki, Lamido Candidate At Convention

…As Arapaja Won With 2004 To Defeat Oyinlola With 705

…PDP Is Back To Save Nigeria From APC’s Mess , Ayu

The political machinations and power plays that took place during the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 2021 elective national convention came to light on Sunday, shortly after the election results were released.

The intrigues that played out at the convention were said to be a preview of what will happen at the party’s 2022 convention, where the presidential candidate for the 2023 election will be chosen.

According to a source who spoke with our correspondent, Olagunsoye Oyinlola was backed by the triumvirate of Atiku Abubakar, Bukola Saraki, and Sule Lamido, who had refused to back down for Taofeek Arapaja despite pressure from PDP governors and other stakeholders.

Arapaja, who was said to have had support from the PDP governors, eventually won the convention with 2004 votes, defeating Oyinlola, who received 705 votes.

According to the source, what happened at the convention’s location, Eagle Square, was a preview of what will happen to the three and others, who will compete for the position with the governors, during the convention to choose the presidential candidate.

It was also learned that the governors used the convention, as well as the events that preceded it, to solidify their positions and lay out their strategy ahead of the 2023 election.

Recall that Atiku defeated Aminu Tambuwal to win the presidential ticket in the 2018 presidential convention, a situation that the governors did not like.

However, while at the conference location on Saturday, rumors circulated that Oyinlola had resigned in favor of Arapaja, until two opposing consensus lists surfaced.

Arapaja was apparently cleared on one of the consensus lists, while Oyinlola was allegedly cleared on the other.

It was only during the election itself that it became obvious that Oyinlola was still running for the position of Deputy National Chairman (South).

During the election, it was also stated that Ina Ciroma was still running for Deputy National Chairman (North), however she was defeated by Ambassador Umar Damagum, who received 2,222 votes to Ciroma’s 365 votes.

Mohammed Kadade Sulieman won the position of National Youth Leader with 3,072 votes versus Usman ElKudan’s 219 votes.

Out of the 21 National Working Committee (NWC) offices, eighteen (18) were uncontested.

Senator Iyorchia Ayu, the former Senate President, was declared winner of the PDP National Chairmanship after 3,426 delegates affirmed his unopposed position at the party’s convention in Abuja. Senator Samuel Anyanwu, from the Southeast, was declared winner of the party’s National Secretaryship.

Ahmed Yayari Mohammed, National Treasurer, and Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade, National Legal Adviser, were both elected in the party’s unopposed election, which received 3,426 votes.

Umar Bature has been named National Organising Secretary, while Daniel Woyegikuro has been named National Financial Secretary, Stella Effah-Attoe has been named National Woman Leader, and Okechukwu Obiechina Daniel has been named National Auditor.

Ndubisi Eneh David is the new Deputy National Secretary, while Ibrahim Abdullahi is the Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Ighoyota Amori is the Deputy National Organizing Secretary, Adamu Kamale is the Deputy National Financial Secretary, Hajaja Yakubu Wanka is the Deputy National Woman Leader, Timothy Osadolor is the Deputy National Youth Leader, and Okechukwu Osuoha is the Deputy National Legal

Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri, chairman of the Convention Planning Committee and governor of Adamawa state, who announced the results, praised party faithful for a “successful” National Convention.

In his thank-you speech, Ayu claimed that the PDP is returning to save Nigeria from the awful situation it’s been in for the past six years, and that the convention’s triumph is a quit notice to the ruling APC.

The former President of the Senate, while criticizing the ruling party and others who desired for the PDP to break up at the convention, said they were dreaming in wonderland and that their fantasies were misplaced.

Ayu expressed gratitude to everybody who contributed to the success of the event as delegates, observers, supporters, members of the media, and security personnel, and promised that the PDP would return to bring the people together.

“Those who have lost hope should know that Nigeria is not a divided country. A small group of people decided to divide Nigeria. PDP will come back to unite our people, put them together, North and South, East and West.

“We will move ahead to develop this country. We did it before. We are going to do it again. I want to thank the governors. I want to thank the delegates. I want to thank our supporters and every single person, who has made this event such a huge success.

“I believe the order party can never hold a convention. Because even state Congress they cannot hold. They have produced 92 state chairmen for 36 states, how can they hold a successful convention which the PDP has done? We are waiting for them. This is a challenge to them. Let them come and hold a successful convention which the PDP has done. This is a quit notice. PDP is back and is taking back the country to develop it.”

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments