Tuesday, April 16, 2024
HomePoliticsAkpabio elected Senate President with 63 votes to Yari's 46.

Akpabio elected Senate President with 63 votes to Yari’s 46.

Senator Godswill Akpabio, former governor of Akwa Ibom State and former Minister of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), has emerged as the winner of head counts in a vote to elect the President of the National Assembly’s 10th Senate.He won following a difficult campaign in which he was pitted against Senator Abdulaziz Yari, former Zamfara State governor.Senators David Umahi (APC Ebonyi South) and Salihu Mustapha (APC Kwara Central) nominated Senator Jibril Barau (APC, Kano State) uncontested as Deputy Senate President.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments